Planning Advisory Commission

The Planning Advisory Committee consists of 9 members, 1 of which is a County Commissioner. Other members are chosen by Commissioner District, with 4 of the members residing outside the corporate limits of cities. The County Board may by ordinance assign additional duties and responsibilities to the Planning Commission including, but not restricted to:

  • The authority to approve some or all categories of planned unit developments
  • The authority to approve some or all categories of subdivisions of land
  • The authority to order the issuance of some or all categories of conditional use permits
  • The conduct of public hearings

The Planning Commission also reviews any comprehensive plans, official controls, and any plans for public land acquisition and development sent to the county for that purpose by any local unit of government or any state or federal agency and shall report therein in writing to the board.


  • 3rd Monday of the month
  • Government Center
    Board Room
    509 W. 5th St.
    Red Wing, MN 55066

Please call the Land Use Department to verify times and locations.


Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


  1. Barney Nesseth Email Barney Nesseth
    Tom Drazkowski Contact Tom Drazkowski
    Howard Stenerson Email Howard Stenerson
    Richard Nystuen Email Richard Nystuen
    Sarah Pettit Email Sarah Pettit
    Marc Huneke Email Marc Huneke
    Darwin Fox Email Darwin Fox
    Tom Gale Email Tom Gale
    Richard Miller Email Richard Miller